Ni No Kuni

by andrewbgross

I finished playing Ni No Kuni over the weekend. It’s a video game made in partnership with Studio Ghibli, one of the most well-respected Japanese anime production companies. It plays sort of like an anime version of Harry Potter meets Pokémon. I enjoyed it and would recommend it, but it doesn’t have much replay value, as you finish most of the content in the course of the first play-through.

I started Skyrim last night. It’s supposed to be fantastic, but it’s 1st person, and I’ve never really been able to get into a 1st person game. I’ll give it another couple of nights, but if it doesn’t grab me, I’ll probably try Torchlight II instead.

I need to start getting into shape in preparation for a trip to Moab this summer. Shira, my brother in law David, and my father in law Alan, and I are going the first week of September, when there is no moon. We’ll go hiking and camping, and at night I’ll get to see the sky with no light pollution for the first time in my life. I’m super excited, but am definitely not in good enough shape at the moment.

Suisei no Gargantia is definitely the best anime of the Spring season, and the only one that has a shot of being a legitimate classic. Shingeki no Kyojin is pretty good, and Hataraku Maou-sama! is silly but fun; everything else is pretty forgettable.

