New Job

by andrewbgross

After 17+ years at Microsoft, my last day was Sunday September 15th.  The next day on the 16th, I went back to the same hallway as a contractor.

My new job has the following benefits:

  • Pay is about the same, once adjusting for reduced benefits
  • The nature of the work is such that when I leave work, I don’t need to think about it or deal with it until the next day
  • Once I get the hang of it, on most days I should be able to get my work done in under 5 hours
  • I can do the job from anywhere that has an internet connection
  • It’s semi-interesting

It has some drawbacks:

  • Being a contractor is, by nature, less secure than being a full time employee
  • There is no career growth path– the job is what it is, and there is no “next step up”
  • About 1/4 of the work that needs to be done is pretty mindless/menial

Overall, I’m really excited and pleased.  I’ve started working on a computer game with a guy I know at work, and am looking forward to devoting some time and energy to that.  So far, I’m liking the work, and the days are going by pretty quickly– there’s no “down time” where I need to cast about for projects to work on, the way it’s been for the last few years.

My new work e-mail address is v-agross@microsoft.com.

