Recent Travels

by andrewbgross

In mid-November, I went to Tokyo for a work conference, and stayed an three days for sight-seeing. It’s the second time I’ve been, I went about 5 years ago when I was president of the Seattle Go Center.

I really like Tokyo a lot. It’s very clean, the subway system is super easy to use, the food is amazing, the people are polite, and they take Pop Culture seriously in a way that we haven’t in the U.S. for several decades. Whether it’s J-Pop, Idols, Anime/Manga, or video games, they are neither self-conscious nor ironic in their production and appreciation of mainstream entertainment. I spent most of my free time in Akihabara, which is the mecca for Japanese otaku.

Some photos I took in Akihabara can be found here.

More recently, Shira and I spent Thanksgiving week with her family in Utah, where we visited Canyonlands and Arches National Parks. Shira’s paternal grandfather, Bates Wilson, was superintendent of Arches, and basically created Canyonlands. This is a really beautiful part of the country, it’s not really possible to appreciate it without seeing it in person.

You can see some professional photos of the area here.

